ABOUT THE LAW
Medical Cannabis Program Overview
The Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act was signed by Governor Quinn on August 1, 2013, and became effective on January 1, 2014.
The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is charged with completing the review and selection of dispensing organization applicants, licensing and regulating dispensing organizations and their agents.
Information on the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act (410 ILCS 130), including the full text can be found on the Illinois General Assembly website.
QUALIFYING MEDICAL CONDITIONS
- Chronic pain
- Irritable bowel syndrome
- Anorexia nervosa
- Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
- Neuro-Bechet’s autoimmune disease
- Polycystic kidney disease (PKD)
- Superior canal dehiscence syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
1. Apply online by clicking the button below or download the Patient Application Form to print and send in by mail.
2. If you chose to apply online, you will gain provisional access to shop 24 hours after you submitted your application.
If you chose to apply via mail, read through the application you downloaded in step 1 and complete all required fields.
3. If you chose to apply online you will need to download your provision access card before shopping by logging into the account you created 24 hours after being accepted.
If you chose to apply via mail, have a physician complete and mail the Physician Certification Form provided below (MUST BE GIVEN TO PATIENT).
4. ONLY APPLICABLE TO MAIL IN APPLICATIONS: Follow the final application submission process (noted in the application) and then await the results. Results (approval/denial) should occur within 90 days of IDPH receiving application.
5. Renew your card before it expires. A letter should be received from IDPH stating the renewal process. If you have not received a letter within 60 days of your current cards expiration date, please use the link below.
ACCESS & CAREGIVERS
Can I grow my own medical cannabis?
Yes, every registered patient under the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act may grow 5 plants. Each Illinois patient households are permitted to grow up to five cannabis plants under certain conditions:
– The grower is an adult aged 21 or older,
– The grower is in a household that owns the residence or has permission from the owner, The grower is limited to growing 5 or less plants,
– The grower must keep cannabis in a separately locked room away from members of the household who are under 21, and
– The grower is prohibited from growing cannabis in public view.
If you are not a registered MCPP patient you cannot grow your own cannabis and products must be purchased through the cannabis dispensary.
How much medical cannabis may I possess as a registered qualifying patient?
Registered qualifying patients and designated caregivers may possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis in a 14-day period from the dispensary the qualifying patient identified on their application.
As a registered qualifying patient, is there a way to possess more than 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis in a 14-day period?
A registered qualifying patient may apply for a waiver to possess more than 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis in a 14-day period. The patient’s physician must complete the form included in the Physician Written Certification Form asserting that, based on the patient’s medical history, 2.5 ounces is an insufficient supply for a 14-day period. Page 12 State of Illinois Illinois Department of Public Health Illinois Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) Designated Caregivers
What is a designated caregiver?
A designated caregiver is a person who is selected by a qualifying patient as the person authorized, on the qualifying patient’s behalf, to possess, obtain from a certified medical cannabis dispensary, dispense and assist in the administration of medical cannabis. Caregivers must enroll in the program. A designated caregiver is issued a medical cannabis registry identification card that allows him/her to possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis on behalf of their patient. It is not legal for caregivers to consume, by any means, medical cannabis that has been dispensed on behalf of a registered qualifying patient.
How do I apply to be a designated caregiver?
Complete the designated caregiver section application.
What else do I need to submit with my Caregiver Application?
The application form lists the requirements. Read the application carefully. My designated caregiver is trying to charge me for a cost associated with obtaining or possessing medical cannabis on my behalf.
Do I need to pay them for their services?
A designated caregiver shall not receive payment or other compensation for services provided as a designated caregiver other than reimbursement for reasonable expenses incurred in the provision of services as a designated caregiver. In the case of an employee working for a hospice provider, nursing facility or medical facility, a visiting nurse, personal care attendant or home health aide serving as a designated caregiver, the individual shall not receive payment or compensation above or beyond his or her regular wages.
Can a caregiver have more than one patient?
No. A caregiver may only serve one patient.
Can a caregiver also be a registered qualifying patient?
No. A caregiver may not be a registered qualifying patient.